Plenary Sessions

Shannon Lecture


Raymond W. Yeung

Raymond W. Yeung is a Choh-Ming Li Professor of Information Engineering at The Chinese University of Hong Kong (CUHK). He received his PhD degree in electrical engineering from Cornell University in 1988. Before joining CUHK in 1991, he was a Member of Technical Staff at AT&T Bell Laboratories. He has been serving as Co-Director of the Institute of Network Coding at CUHK since 2010. His two textbooks on information theory have been adopted by over 100 institutions around the world. In 2014, he gave the first MOOC on information theory that has reached over 60,000 students to date.

He has received a number of awards for his research contributions. These include the 2005 IEEE Information Theory Society Paper Award, the Friedrich Wilhelm Bessel Research Award from the Alexander von Humboldt Foundation in 2007, the 2016 IEEE Eric E. Sumner Award, the 2018 ACM SIGMOBILE Test-of-Time Paper Award, the 2021 IEEE Richard W. Hamming Medal, and the 2022 Claude E. Shannon Award. In 2015, he was named an Outstanding Overseas Chinese Information Theorist by the China Information Theory Society. He is a Fellow of the IEEE, Hong Kong Academy of Engineering Sciences, and Hong Kong Institution of Engineers.

Plenary Speakers

Yonina Eldar

Yonina C. Eldar is a Professor in the Department of Math and Computer Science at the Weizmann Institute of Science, Rehovot, Israel, where she heads the center for Biomedical Engineering and Signal Processing. She is also a Visiting Professor at MIT and at the Broad Institute and an Adjunct Professor at Duke University, and was a Visiting Professor at Stanford University. She is a member of the Israel Academy of Sciences and Humanities, an IEEE Fellow and a EURASIP Fellow. She has received many awards for excellence in research and teaching, including the IEEE Signal Processing Society Technical  Achievement Award, the IEEE/AESS Fred Nathanson Memorial Radar Award, the IEEE Kiyo Tomiyasu Award, the Michael Bruno Memorial Award from the Rothschild Foundation, the Weizmann Prize for Exact Sciences, and the Wolf Foundation Krill Prize for Excellence in Scientific Research. She is the Editor in Chief of Foundations and Trends in Signal Processing, and serves the IEEE on several technical and award committees. She heads the Committee for Promoting Gender Fairness in Higher Education Institutions in Israel.

Bengt Holmström 

Bengt Robert Holmström is the Paul A. Samuelson Professor of Economics, Emeritus, at Massachusetts Institute of Technology, where he was head of the Economics Department from 2003-2006. He held a joint appointment with MIT’s Sloan School of Management. Holmström received his doctoral degree from Stanford University in 1978. Before joining MIT in 1994, he was the Edwin J. Beinecke Professor of Management at Yale University’s School of Management (1983-94) and associate professor at the Kellogg Graduate School of Management at Northwestern University (1979-82). Holmström is a microeconomic theorist, best known for his research on the theory of contracting and incentives especially as applied to the theory of the firm, to corporate governance and to liquidity problems in financial crises. In 2011, he co-authored the book with Jean Tirole. He was awarded the 2016 Sveriges Riksbank Prize in Economic Sciences in Memory of Alfred Nobel for his contributions to contract theory (together with Oliver Hart). He is a former board member of the Nokia Corporation (1999-2012) and Aalto University (2010-2017) and serves on several academic advisory boards, including Toulouse School of Economics and Luohan Academy.

Michael Jordan

Michael I. Jordan is the Pehong Chen Distinguished Professor in the Department of EECS and the Department of Statistics at the University of California, Berkeley.  His research interests include machine learning, optimization, and control theory.  Prof. Jordan is a member of the National Academy of Sciences and the National Academy of Engineering, and is a Foreign Member of the Royal Society.  He has given a Plenary Lecture at the International Congress of Mathematicians, he has received the IEEE John von Neumann Medal, the IJCAI Research Excellence Award, the AMS Ulf Grenander Prize in Stochastic Theory and Modeling, the David Rumelhart Prize, the ACM/AAAI Allen Newell Award, and he holds an Honorary Doctorate from Yale University.

Tsachy Weissman

Tsachy has been on the faculty of the Electrical Engineering department at Stanford since 2003, researching and teaching the science of information, with applications spanning genomics, neuroscience, and technology.  He has been serving on editorial boards for scientific journals, technical advisory boards in industry, and as founding director of the Stanford Compression Forum. His recent projects include the STEM2SHTEM science and humanities summer internship program for high schoolers, and Stagecast, a low-latency video platform allowing actors and singers to perform together in real-time while geographically distributed due to the pandemic. An IEEE fellow, he has received multiple awards for his research and teaching, including best paper awards from the IEEE Information Theory and Communications societies, while his students received best student authored paper awards at the top conferences of their areas of scholarship. He has prototyped Guardant Health’s first algorithms for early detection of cancer from blood tests, and has more recently co-founded and sold Compressable to Amazon, reducing humanity’s cloud storage carbon footprint. His favorite gig to date was advising the HBO show “Silicon Valley”.